Help Support ELC

ELC relies on the generous contributions of individuals, corporations and foundations to support our work.

donate now

Join Our Network




Annual Awards Reception


Each spring, ELC hosts an awards ceremony and reception to honor individuals and organizations for their commitment to public education. The reception is also an important fundraising event; contributions and proceeds from ticket sales help maintain ELC as a champion of educational equity.

This year ELC’s annual fundraiser was held on Thursday, April 17, 2014. Dr. Pedro Noguera, Professor of Education and Director of the Metropolitan Center for Researcg on Equity and the Transformation of Schools at NYU, kicked off the event with a lecture at the Rutgers Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy in New Brunswick. Dr. Noguera's remarks focused on making a difference in public education, lessons from the field.

Following the talk, ELC hosted a reception across the street at the Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick. The reception featured a variety of food and wine.


Two awards were presented at the reception: the Morheuser Humanitarian Award and the Education Justice Award.

  • The Morheuser Humanitarian Award honors dedication to the advancement of the educational rights of students in New Jersey’s public schools and is presented in memory of the late Marilyn Morheuser, ELC’s long-time Executive Director and advocate for education justice. This year, the award was given to Vincent Giordano, former Executive Director of New Jersey Education Association.
  • The Education Justice Award honors commitment to expanding equal educational opportunity for public school children across the U.S. This year the award was given to Dr. Pedro Noguera, Professor and Director of the Metropolitan Center at NYU. Previous winners have included Wade Henderson, President of the Leadership Conference for Human and Civil Rights, Diane Ravitch, noted educator and New York University Professor, Benjamin Todd Jealous, President and Chief Executive Officer of the NAACP and Kurt Landgraf.

For more information about the event, please contact Cynthia Triminio-Batista, Fundraising & Event Coordinator, at 973.624.1815 Ext. 12 or