ELC News


ELC LETTER TO LEGISLATORS ON SCHOOL FUNDING ___________________________________

NEW JERSEY MUST REIN IN IMPROPER CHARTER GROWTH ___________________________________

Support Our Work

As a nonprofit organization, ELC relies on the generous contributions of individuals, corporations and foundations to support our work.

donate now

Annual Awards Reception


Each spring, ELC hosts an awards ceremony and reception to honor individuals and organizations for their commitment to public education. The reception is also an important fundraising event; contributions and proceeds from ticket sales help maintain ELC as a champion of educational equity.

This year, ELC’s annual fundraiser was held on Tuesday, May 15. Dr. Michelle Fine, Distinguished Professor at the City University of New York, kicked off the event at the Rutgers Bloustein School with an inspiring lecture focused on bringing hope and justice to the nation's public schools. The lecture was followed by a panel discussion featuring Susan Cauldwell, Former Executive Director of Save Our Schools NJ Community Organizing; Sean Spiller, Vice President of NJEA; and Charles Payne, Distinguished Professor at Rutgers University. 

Following the talk, ELC hosted a food and wine reception attended by over 120 guests at the Heldrich Hotel in New Brunswick.  

Two awards were presented at the reception:

  • The Morheuser Humanitarian Award honors dedication to the advancement of the educational rights of students in New Jersey’s public schools and is presented in memory of the late Marilyn Morheuser, ELC’s long-time Executive Director and advocate for education justice. This year, the award was presented to Susan Cauldwell.
  • The Education Justice Award honors commitment to expanding equal educational opportunity for public school children across the U.S. This year, the award was presented to Dr. Michelle Fine. Previous winners have included the Ford Foundation; the Schott Foundation; Lily Eskelsen Garcia, President of the National Education Association; Marian Wright Edelman, founder and President of the Children's Defense Fund; Pedro Noguera, Professor of Education; Wade Henderson, former President of the Leadership Conference for Human and Civil Rights; Diane Ravitch, noted author and New York University Professor; Benjamin Todd Jealous, former President and Chief Executive Officer of the NAACP; and Kurt Landgraf; former President and Chief Executive Officer of the Educational Testing Service.

For more information about the event, please contact Nicole Ciullo, ELC Fundraising & Event Coordinator, at 973.624.1815, ext. 12, or at nciullo@edlawcenter.org